IPL 2020: KKR’s biggest strengths are foreign players, but the team relies heavily on this all-rounder.

After a poor performance last season, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have changed their coaching set-up and added some players to the squad. However, Dinesh Karthik stays with Chief Executive Officer Venki Mysore as he has great faith in his captaincy. The team’s previous IPL season was very poor and Karthik was given the reins of the team after Gautam Gambhir, one of India’s best T20 captains.

KKR’s bet on foreign players: Jamaica’s star all-rounder Andre Russell continued his best performance in KKR’s two brilliant seasons and was voted the most special player of 2019. On some occasions, Russell was disappointed to sit in the dugout, as he did not have enough balls to lead the team to victory. Of the four foreign players in the first selection, three are likely to be Russell, Sunil Narine and Pat Cummins. England’s White Ball captain Eoin Morgan and his junior teammate Tom Benton could be selected for the fourth. If Morgan plays he can help Captain Karthik in the middle order.

Rising star Shubman Gill could be replaced this time as his favorite opener as he was played up and down last season, a decision that was also heavily criticized. Along with him, Sunil Narine or Benton can also start the innings. In addition, young fast bowler Shivam Mavi will be looking to recover from the injury this season, while Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Sandeep Warrior and Varun Chakraborty also have expectations. Kuldeep Yadav will be on. KKR will start their campaign against defending champions Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi from September 23.

Team: Dinesh Karthik (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Eoin Morgan (Vice Captain), Shubman Gill, Tom Benton, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Famous Krishna, Loki Ferguson, Rinku Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Nikhil Nayak, Chris Green, M Siddharth, Sandeep Warrior, Varun Chakraborty and Siddhesh Lad.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *