3 stadiums in the name of Jawaharlal Nehru, many stadiums in the name of politicians but no stadiums in the name of cricketers.

President Ramnath Kovinde on Wednesday gifted the country the largest stadium in the world. The world’s largest stadium, known as Motera Stadium, has been renamed after Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Motera Stadium has been renamed as ‘Narendra Modi Stadium’. This is the first stadium or building named after PM Modi. The controversy erupted as soon as Motera Stadium was named. Congress leader Hardik Patel has termed it an insult to Sardar Patel. This is not the first time that sports stadiums, especially cricket stadiums, have been named after politicians.

There is no international stadium in the country in the name of cricketers, but certainly in the name of the leaders, sporting administrators and officials of the British Raj. Most importantly, there is no cricket stadium named after a cricketer in India. For example, M.A. The stadiums are named after cricket operators like Chidambaram Stadium, Chinnaswamy in Bangalore, Wankhede in Mumbai and IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. There are six stadiums in the country named after former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. 4 of them are local and international – New Delhi, Chennai, Kochi, Indore, Guwahati, Marago, Pune and Ghaziabad. The cricket stadium in Hyderabad is named after former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi with a life-size portrait of the former prime minister at the entrance. He is also named after the country’s highest sports award. Arenas in Hyderabad, Dehradun and Kochi are also named after him. Former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi also has 6 Erin in the country – Guwahati, New Delhi and Vijayawada. Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee also has two cricket stadiums – one in Lucknow and the other in Nadaun in Himachal Pradesh. Similarly, there is a stadium in Valsad named after Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. The cricket stadium in Ahmedabad was earlier named after him.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *